About Us
Kathleen Whitmire, PhD, CCC-SLP
(Retired), BCS-CL (Retired) - Chair

Phone:
301.908.1773
Email: kathleen@sdgenterprise.us.com
Monica Ferguson, MS, CCC-SLP,
BCS-CL - Vice Chair

Phone:
801.201.1892
Email: monica.ferguson@utah.edu
Paula Rhyner, PhD, BCS-CL - Past
Chair/Historian

Phone:
414.229.4878/4263
Email: prhyner@uwm.edu
Melissa Jakubowitz, MA, BCS-CL -
Treasurer

Phone:
415.512.9000
Email:  lthpfxr@gmail.com
Judy Montgomery, PhD, CCC-SLP,
BCS-CL - Secretary

Phone:
949.254.5507
Email: montgome@chapman.edu
Linda Schreiber, MS, BCS-CL -
Continuing Education Coordinator

Phone:
715.861.3209
Email: lindaschreiber@charter.net
Trisha Self, PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-CL -
Continuing Education Coordinator

Phone:
316.978.6810
Email: trisha.self@wichita.edu
Froma Roth, PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-CL

Phone:
301.296.8743
Email: froth@asha.org
Kelly Scott, JD - Consumer Member

Phone:
414.963.9447
Email:  kscott736@wi.rr.com
 
The mission of the American Board of Child Language and Language Disorders
(ABCLLD) is to promote high quality services by speech-language pathologists to
children and adolescents ages birth through 21 years whose language learning may
be characterized as typical, at-risk, or atypical. The ABCLLD is approved by the
Council for Clinical Certification (CCC).

The ABCLLD program recognizes:
  • Advanced knowledge
  • Advanced skills
  • Experience in clinical services

In December 2013, the ABCLLD was formed and later re-organized to reflect the
change in status from Board Recognized Specialist in Child Language (BRS-CL) to
Board Certified Specialist in Child Language (BCS-CL) in January 2014. Further, the
Board is charged with administering, in an effective manner, a high quality

program of certification for specialists in the area of Child Language and Language
Disorders.
The Board is comprised of the following elected/appointed officers: